Green Chemistry – Saving Us From Petroleum Plastics

Ask a typical American where he thinks rising oil prices will have the most impact on his life, and he’ll probably answer “at the gas pump” (that is, if he owns a car). He may be right – as of 2006, gasoline accounts for roughly 45% pump of total American oil consumption[1]. But far from the minds of many consumers is the prevalence of goods that are manufactured from petroleum derivatives: polyethylene terephthalate (“polyester”) in plastic bottles and synthetic textiles, polystyrene (“styrofoam”) used in packaging, low- and high-density polyethylene used in a variety of products. As the price of petroleum continues to climb, the prices of products containing petroleum-derived plastics will rise accordingly.

Just last week, Dow Chemical Company announced a price increase of up to 20% for all of its products, citing rising energy costs. Most of Dow’s sales come from plastics and chemicals (mostly derived from petroleum) used in industrial processes, and not in finished goods, so the impact on consumers isn’t so direct. However, the reality is that plastic goods will continue to rise as petroleum prices skyrocket. But must we begin our parting with inexpensive and ubiquitous petroleum goods not only at the gas pumps, but in our latex condoms, grocery bags, cell phones, water bottles, and medical supplies? 

Developments in green chemistry may stave these tearful goodbyes. Green chemistry is a philosophy which emphasizes research into the development of environmentally friendly, energy efficient, and sustainable chemical processes. Green chemists are working on exciting and innovative ways to avoid the use of toxic solvents and reagents and to replace wasteful and expensive chemical reagents with catalysts, which can be reused over and over again. Of particular interest to us is the development of alternative polymers that combine useful material properties with sustainable production.

Adipic acid, the monomer used to produce the ubiquitous polymer nylon and some polyurethanes, has traditionally been produced from petroleum. In 2001, a team of chemists at Michigan State University published their two-step synthesis of adipic acid[2] from D-glucose – a naturally occurring sugar produced by cellular respiration in all living things – using genetically modified E. coli bacteria. The process was completely free of petroleum feedstock. The total yield of adipic acid from glucose was 21%, considered poor, but genetically engineered improvements to the biochemical pathways responsible for the metabolic production of cis-cis-muconic acid, the intermediate in the synthesis, may offer more economically feasible yields[3].

A significant problem faced by any plastic good comes long after its production, whether from sustainable or petroleum feedstock: disposal. Only two of the “Big Six” synthetic polymers, which account for 76% of all United States production, are readily recyclable[4]. Nearly all plastics which are not recycled do not degrade readily, and comprise an estimated 11% of solid municipal waste[4]. Another class of biologically produced plastic, polyhydroxyalkanoates, are not only readily synthesized by metabolic bacterial pathways, but are also readily degraded to water and carbon dioxide by bacteria naturally present in oxygen-rich soil. PHAs have a variety of applications, from thin films to packing materials to biomedical grafts.

Green chemistry is still a young and burgeoning field. As the price of petroleum, and products derived from petroleum, continues to climb, green chemistry will receive greater attention in both academic and industrial circles, and its potential offers hope for the use of sustainable plastics in the post-petroleum world. Of course, the solution to our plastic problem must not only come from scientific research, but also from changes that we make to our consumption of plastic goods.

References:

  1. “U.S. Product Supplied for Crude Oil and Petroleum Products”, Department of Energy
  2. “Benzene-Free Synthesis of Adipic Acid”, Niu, W., Draths, K.M., Frost, J.W.
  3. “Altered Glucose Transport and Shikimate Pathway Product Yields in E. coli”, Yi, J., Draths, K.M., Li, K., Frost, J.W.
  4. “Organic Chemistry”, Smith, J.G. pp 1167-1168
46 Responses

  1. This is very hot information. I’ll share it on Digg.

  2. Im having a teeny problem. I cant get my reader to pickup your feed, Im using bing reader by the way.

  3. Nice post . Cheers for, visiting my blog dude. I will email you soon! I did not know that.

  4. Re: The person who made the comment that this was a great site actually needs to get their head looked at.

  5. How do you make this blog look this sick!? Email me if you want and share your wisdom. Id be thankful.

  6. Do youve got a spam issue on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was asking yourself your scenario; weve got developed some great techniques and we are looking to trade options with other people, be positive to blast me an e-mail if planning to pursue.

  7. It appears to me that this web site doesnt load up on a Motorola Droid. Are other folks getting the exact same problem? I like this site and dont want to have to skip it when Im gone from my computer.

  8. Do youve a spam issue on this internet site; I also am a blogger, and I was questioning your scenario; weve got made some nice methods and we are searching to trade options with other people, be sure to shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  9. How come you do not have your site viewable in mobile format? cant see anything in my netbook.

  10. Nice post ! Thank you for, commenting on this blog dude! I shall email you some time. I didnt realise that!

  11. Cool post ! Thank you for, writing on my blog page dude. I shall message you some time. I didnt realise that.

  12. Im getting a tiny issue. I cant get my reader to pick-up your feed, Im using bing reader by the way.

  13. As soon as I at first commented I clicked on the Notify me whenever new comments are added checkbox and now each and every time a comment is added I get 4 email messages with the identical comment.

  14. Re: The person who created the statement that this was an excellent web site truly needs to have their head evaluated.

  15. Im having a little problem. I cant get my reader to pickup your feed, Im using bing reader by the way.

  16. This website is pretty good! How can I make one like this !

  17. Whilst I really like this post, I believe there was an punctuational error shut towards the finish of the 3rd paragraph.

  18. How did you make your site look this sick!? Email me if you get the chance and share your wisdom. Id be appreciative.

  19. Whilst I actually like this publish, I believe there was an punctuational error shut towards the end with the third section.

  20. If you dont mind, where do you host your weblog? I am searching for a good quality web host and your website seams to be quick and up just about all the time

  21. Have you given any thought at all with converting your main website into Chinese? I know a several of translaters right here that might help you do it for free if you want to make contact with me.

  22. Whenever I initially commented I clicked on the Notify me whenever new comments are added checkbox and now each time a comment is added I receive 4 messages with the same comment.

  23. I have got one recommendation for your website. It seems like there are a couple of cascading stylesheet troubles while opening a number of webpages inside google chrome and safari. It is operating okay in internet explorer. Perhaps you can double check this.

  24. I experimented with looking at your website with my cellphone and the format doesnt seem to be correct. Might want to check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cell phone layouts are not working with your web site.

  25. I have got one recommendation for your web site. It looks like at this time there are a few cascading stylesheet problems when opening a selection of webpages inside google chrome as well as firefox. It is functioning alright in internet explorer. Probably you can double check this.

  26. Most of the commentary on this blog site dont make sense.

  27. Even though I really like this post, I believe there was an spelling error shut to the finish of your third sentence.

  28. I was basically wondering if you ever thought of replacing the page layout of your site? It is well written; I enjoy what youve got to state. But maybe you could include a little more in the way of content so people might connect to it better. You have got a great deal of wording for only having one or two photos. Maybe you can space it out better?

  29. Just to let you know your website looks a little bit strange in Firefox on my pc using Linux .

  30. Do youve a spam concern on this web site; I also am a blogger, and I was asking yourself your scenario; we have produced some nice strategies and were searching to exchange solutions with other people, be certain to shoot me an e-mail if serious.

  31. This blog site is pretty good. How was it made .

  32. Re: Whoever made the statement that this was an excellent site really needs to possess their head analyzed.

  33. This is often a wonderful blog, would you be interested in working on an interview about just how you made it? If so e-mail me!

  34. Just to let you know your blog looks a little bit strange in Safari on my notebook using Linux .

  35. Whenever I at first commented I clicked on the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and now every time a remark is added I get four email messages with the exact same comment.

  36. I tried taking a look at your site in my cellphone and the format does not seem to be right. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellular phone layouts are not working with your web site.

  37. This is a excellent website, would you be interested in going through an interview about just how you made it? If so e-mail me personally!

  38. How come you dont have your site viewable in wap format? cant see anything in my phone.

  39. I Am Going To have to return again when my course load lets up – nonetheless I am getting your Rss feed so i can read your internet site offline. Cheers.

  40. Im getting a little problem. I cant get my reader to pick-up your feed, Im using google reader by the way.

  41. You should really control the responses here

  42. Just to let you know your web-site looks a little bit different on Firefox on my notebook using Linux .

  43. I love your wordpress layout, where did you get a hold of it?

  44. Odd , your post turns up with a dark hue to it, what shade is the primary color on your web site?

  45. The majority of of the remarks on this particular web site dont make sense.

Leave a Reply

